Is Babar Azam included in 2022 ICC Men’s T20I squad?

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced the men’s T20I squad for 2022, with two Pakistani players in the squad.

The ICC named players in the Team of the Year based on their performance in all three disciplines of the game.

However, Pakistan captain Babar Azam was not included in the ICC Team of the Year. Men in Green’s Haris Rauf and Mohammad Rizwan have made it to the 2022 T20I squad.

Babar played 26 T20Is in 2022 and scored 735 runs at an average of 31.95, including a century. He also led Pakistan in the finals of ICCT 20 World Cup 2022 and Asia Cup 2022.

England’s Jos Buttler has been appointed as the captain of the ICC short format team. The wicketkeeper-batsman led his side to victory in the T20 World Cup in Australia last November. Buttler scored 462 runs in 2022 at an explosive strike rate of 160.41.

Rizwan, who won the T20I Cricketer of the Year award in 2021, scored 996 runs, second only to India’s Suryakumar Yadav last year. It is worth mentioning here that Rizwan is also among the contenders for the ICC Men’s T20 Cricketer of the Year (2022).

After taking 31 wickets in 2022, Harris has been included in the Pace Attack of the ICC T20I Team of the Year.

India’s Virat Kohli and Yadav are also included in the playing XI.

The ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year includes three players from India, two each from England and Pakistan and one each from New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Ireland and Sri Lanka.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year (2022)

Jos Buttler (c) (England), Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan), Virat Kohli (India), Surya Kumar Yadav (India), Glenn Phillips (New Zealand), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe). Hardik Pandya (India), Sam Curran (England), Hardik Pandya (India), Vahindu Hasringa (Sri Lanka), Haris Rauf (Pakistan), Josh Little (Ireland)

Women’s Squad

For the 2022 Women’s T20I team, all-rounder Nida Dar has become the only Pakistani player to be included in the squad.

Along with four Indian players, three players from Australia and one each from New Zealand, Pakistan, England and Sri Lanka have been included in the elite T20I women’s squad.

New Zealand’s Sophie Devine has been appointed as the captain of the team.

Darr, with 15 wickets at an average of 18.33 and an economy rate of 5.50 in T20s in 2022, enjoyed one of the best years of his career. In just three of the 14 T20Is in 2022, Nida remained wicketless.

Dar’s best all-round performance came against arch-rivals India in the Women’s Asia Cup 2022 when she took 2-23 with the ball before scoring 56* off 37 balls to claim the Player of the Match award as Pakistan got one win. over India.

Nida was also nominated for the ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year for her outstanding performance last year.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year (2022)

Sophie Devine (New Zealand) (C), Smriti Mandhana (India), Beth Mooney (Australia), Ash Gardner (Australia), Tahila McGrath (Australia), Nida Dar (Pakistan), Deepti Sharma (India), Richa Ghosh ( India), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Anuka Ranaweera (Sri Lanka), and Renuka Singh (India).

Leave a Reply


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)