Australian Department of HomeAffairs has updated English Language requirements for visa application

In November, IELTS introduced one skill retake in Australia. But, their was a confusion among international students that will Department of HomeAffairs accept this test (After one skill retake) or not? But this confusion is no more now. Department of HomeAffairs recently announced a detail on it and that announcement will be discussed in this blog.


IELTS test takers now have access to a new tool to help them increase their scores and reach their career and global learning goals. IELTS is the world’s most popular high-stakes language test.

One Skill Retake allows test-takers to retake a section of one of four skills (listening, reading, writing and speaking) if they don’t get the score they were hoping for the first time. Available on select IDP. IELTS centers in Australian capital cities.

The one-skill retake has been implemented, according to Warwick Freeland, managing director of IELTS at IDP Education, who claimed it was done in response to test-taker feedback.

According to Mr. Freeland, test takers can achieve their best score on the first attempt with proper study methods and motivation. However, he paid attention to what his test-takers had to say when they requested an opportunity to retake a section of the test if they did not perform as expected on test day. They had hope.

Test takers can resume their education, relocation, or job application plans with the OneSkill Retake, he said. The Australian Department of Home Affairs will be able to use the second test report form given to test takers for migration and study reasons during the first launch phase of the test.

According to Mr. Freeland, One Skill Retake underscores IELTS’ commitment to helping businesses achieve their highest scores and attract the best applicants.

Firms that embrace one-skill retakes will be able to provide flexibility to their applicants to meet entry requirements without sacrificing applicant quality once implemented, Mr. Freeland contends.

He declared that he is happy with this effort as it reinforces his dedication to helping test-takers realize their full potential.


English language requirements are generally applicable to applicants who wish to study or work in Australia.

Check the eligibility page for the visa subclass you want to apply for on the Department of HomeAffairs website to see what level of English you need and what evidence you need to provide.

For English language visa requirements, the Department accepts scores from the following tests taken at a secure test centre:

  • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL iBT)
  • International English Language Testing System (IELTS), including One Skill Retake (OSR)*
  • Pearson Test of English (PTE)
  • Cambridge English (CAE) (also known as C1 Advanced)
  • Occupational English Test (OET), noting this is a test developed for health professionals

IELTS One Skill Retake (OSR) will be available for certain test takers beginning December 14, 2022. OSR enables test takers to retake one of the four test components (reading, writing, speaking, or listening) (once only).

The Department will accept IELTS test results that include OSR for Australian visa purposes, with the exception of applications for subclasses 476, 482, and 485, which require scores from a single sitting/attempt.


Some test providers offer home or online versions of their tests, such as TOEFL iBT – Special Home Edition, OET@Home, IELTS Indicator, and IELTS Online. For Australian migration purposes, Home Affairs does not accept scores from these tests or any other ‘at-home’ or ‘online’ tests.

Leave a Reply


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)